Skip to main content

USU Dean Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Deseret News Friday, May. 10, 2019

Utah State University Science Dean Maura Hagan is among 100 U.S. scientists and 25 international associates elected this year to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the world’s premier academic institutions. Hagan, a native of Massachusetts, is the first USU scientist to receive the recognition from academy, a private, nonprofit institution established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. “Dean Hagan not only continues her groundbreaking contributions to atmospheric research but, by her leadership and service, is guiding USU’s scientific research and teaching efforts toward a successful future,” USU President Noelle Cockett said in a statement. “We celebrate her well-deserved recognition from the NAS.”

More In the News

All in the news


Utah State Today is available as a weekly e-mail update, with links to news, features, and events. Subscribers stay connected, whether on campus or off.

To receive Utah State Today every week, simply enter your e-mail address below.

Privacy Notice

Unsubscribe here.

Visit our social media hub

Visit our social media hub to see a snapshot of student life and find more USU social media accounts.

Learn more About USU