Skip to main content

USU Science Sean Elected to the National Academy of Sciences

The Herald Journal Wednesday, May. 15, 2019

The National Academy of Sciences, one of the world’s premier academic institutions, has elected Utah State University’s Dean Maura Hagan from the College of Science, along with 100 other U.S. scientists and 25 associates this year. Hagan is the first person at USU to receive this recognition. The appointments were announced April 30 and membership is “considered one of the highest honors a scientist can receive,” according to the press release. “I was completely surprised,” Hagan said. “Someone who is already a member nominates you, so I don’t know who was responsible, but I was delighted and very honored.” ... USU President Noelle Cockett said that Hagan “not only continues her groundbreaking contributions to atmospheric research but, by her leadership and service, is guiding USU’s scientific research and teaching efforts toward a successful future.” Hagan was named dean of the College of Science in 2015 and joined USU after serving as interim director of the National Center for Atmospheric Research in Boulder, Colorado, for two years. She began her career at NCAR as a scientist in 1992, and was promoted to senior scientist in 2003.

More In the News

All in the news


Utah State Today is available as a weekly e-mail update, with links to news, features, and events. Subscribers stay connected, whether on campus or off.

To receive Utah State Today every week, simply enter your e-mail address below.

Privacy Notice

Unsubscribe here.

Visit our social media hub

Visit our social media hub to see a snapshot of student life and find more USU social media accounts.

Learn more About USU